A new small soap factory in Burre, West Ethiopia

The soap factory in Burre is not completely new, but now the women are back in business. In all counties of Oromia, women have been trained in soap production in recent years. Things went very well in Burre, the soap was…

The cooperation with village health workers becomes concrete

Every Ethiopian farmers' cooperative has two village health workers. They mostly grew up in the village, have completed the 10th grade and a 1,5 year-long training in important topics to promote health in the village: hygiene, nutrition, vaccinations, pregnancy, Treatment of common diseases, etc.. And…

Corona in Ethiopia (Update)

Many countries in the world are struggling with the pandemic, while many African countries are unaffected. Is it because of the, that less is tested? Ethiopia has a population of 110 millions and reports on 08.12.2020 the following figures: 113.735 positive cases…

Survey of affected persons

Podo e.V. informs since 10 years in western Ethiopia on podotoiosis and supports affected people in self-treatment. More than 15.000 People were thus reached by self-help groups. That sounds neat and we are proud of our results, nevertheless, it is…

Eine neue kleine Seifensiederei in Burre, Westäthiopien

Ganz neu ist die Seifensiederei in Burre nicht, aber nun sind die Frauen wieder im Geschäft. In allen Landkreisen von Oromia wurden in den letzten Jahren Frauen in der Seifenproduktion ausgebildet. In Burre lief es sehr gut, die Seife wurde…

Die Zusammenarbeit mit Dorfgesundheitshelferinnen wird konkret

Jede äthiopische Bauerngenossenschaft hat zwei Dorfgesundheitshelferinnen. Die sind meist in dem Dorf aufgewachsen, haben die 10.Klasse absolviert und eine 1,5 jährige Ausbildung in wichtigen Themen zur Förderung der Gesundheit im Dorf: Hygiene, Ernährung, Impfungen, Schwangerschaft, Behandlung häufiger Krankheiten usw. Und…

Corona in Äthiopien (Update)

Viele Länder der Welt haben mit der Pandemie zu kämpfen, während viele Länder Afrikas wenig betroffen sind. Liegt es daran, dass weniger getestet wird? Äthiopien hat eine Bevölkerung von 110 Millionen und meldet am 08.12.2020 folgende Zahlen: 113.735 positive Fälle…

Befragung Betroffener

Podo e.V. informiert seit 10 Jahren im Westen Äthiopiens über Podokoniose und unterstützt betroffene Menschen in der Eigenbehandlung. Mehr als 15.000 Menschen wurden so durch Selbsthilfegruppen erreicht. Das klingt ordentlich und wir sind stolz auf unsere Ergebnisse, dennoch sind es…