Who would have thought that?

Who would have thought that?

If the staff of the Podoarbeit in Ethiopia meeting former participants of the Podo self-help groups, often hear, that's now better off these. Some are even after years yet thorough enthusiastically about their 'cure'. Of course like to hear that the employees, but the also covers the reality? And how much of the praise is due to the 'African courtesy', a culture, in a critical word first bans.

cut pieces of SOAP

The project co-ordinator Bogalech Terfasa in Tschallia wanted to know more. She sent employees with a questionnaire of from House to House and avht communities. People with Podo were interviewed and then was watching them on the feet: Wear shoes and socks? Are the feet clean? Have SOAP for feet in the House? Can I see that? And where is the plastic bowl, that once you have purchased?

594 People with Podo found. And who was not at home, It went well which probably. 44% the questioning took part in a self-help group, most of the time, it was already 5 Years back. It was a surprising and sad finding, because the majority of those afflicted has by no means been achieved through self help groups.

It is interesting that, who have participated in a self group, with which, who did not participate, to compare. Here, a big difference showed in the assessment of the feet. Former participants said majority (76%), her feet now would be better than before 5 Years, versus 22% the comparison group. The most common reason, why many not an Podo - self-help group participated, was: We have not heard of it.

Other differences were found in the shoe wear behavior and the use of SOAP to foot hygiene. The SOAP makes the difference, whether it better is someone with Podo or not. Wash your feet with SOAP, This will be an important slogan. Who would have thought that, but it is not logical?

Christel Ahrens.

Wer hätte das gedacht?

Wer hätte das gedacht?

Wenn die Mitarbeitenden der Podoarbeit in Äthiopien ehemalige Teilnehmer/Innen der Podo-Selbsthilfegruppen treffen, hören sie oft, dass es diesen jetzt besser geht. Einige sind selbst nach Jahren noch regelrecht begeistert über ihre ‚Heilung‘. Das hören die Mitarbeitenden natürlich gern,  aber bildet das auch die Wirklichkeit ab? Und wieviel am Lob ist der ‚afrikanischen Höflichkeit‘ geschuldet, einer Kultur, in der sich ein kritisches Wort erstmal verbietet.

zugeschnittene Seifenstücke

Die Projektkoordinatorin Bogalech Terfasa in Tschallia wollte es genauer wissen. Sie schickte Mitarbeitende mit einem Fragebogen von Haus zu Haus und durch avht Gemeinden. Menschen mit Podo wurden befragt und sodann wurde ihnen auf die Füße geschaut: Tragen Sie Schuhe und Socken? Sind die Füße sauber? Haben Sie Seife für Füße im Haus? Kann ich die mal sehen? Und wo ist die Plastikschüssel, die Sie einst gekauft haben?

594 Menschen mit Podo wurden gefunden. Und wer nicht zuhause war, dem ging es vermutlich gut. 44% der Befragen haben an einer Selbsthilfegruppe teilgenommen, meistens lag das bereits 5 Jahre zurück. Das war ein überraschender und trauriger Befund, denn die Mehrheit der Betroffenen ist keineswegs durch Selbsthilfegruppen erreicht worden.

Interessant ist es die, die an einer Selbstgruppe teilgenommen haben, mit denen, die nicht teilgenommen haben, zu vergleichen. Hier zeigte sich ein großer Unterschied in der Beurteilung der Füße. Ehemalige Teilnehmer/Innen sagten mehrheitlich (76%), es ginge ihren Füßen jetzt besser als vor 5 Jahren, versus 22% der Vergleichsgruppe. Der häufigste Grund, warum viele nicht an einer Podo-Selbsthilfegruppe teilgenommen haben, lautete: Wir haben davon nicht gehört.

Weitere Unterschiede fanden sich im Schuhtrageverhalten und im Gebrauch der Seife zur Fußhygiene. Die Seife macht den großen Unterschied, ob es jemanden mit Podo besser geht oder nicht. Wascht euch die füße mit Seife, das wird ein wichtiger Slogan werden. Wer hätte das gedacht, aber ist es nicht logisch?

Von Christel Ahrens.